Annotations are public by default and can be seen by anyone using the Hypothesis client. Highlights are private, visible only to you when you’re logged in. If you’ve created a public annotation you can later make it private.
Annotations made as a member of a group are visible only to other group members. Group annotations can, as well, be made fully private.